Lviv is not only an old city, but also very urban. There are a large number of unique architectural monuments belonging to different eras and styles or concealing their eclectic combination. This city, rightly called the cultural capital of Ukraine, boasts many interesting author's institutions, professional theaters, various museums, ancient temples and churches.
Many Lviv buildings are more than a hundred years old and each of them has its own unique history. In addition, the streets and squares of the city of Leva are no less prominent than the buildings located on them. Their special charm and color, as well as the heady aroma of freshly brewed morning coffee, which comes from everywhere, make this city one of the most popular and beloved among tourists. Thus, every year it is visited by about 2.5 million travelers from all over Ukraine and other countries.
Only in Lviv will you be able to walk along the narrowest street in Ukraine, visit a street where no one lives, see a street with several names and visit the smallest square in the historic center of the city, which is also one of the oldest. That is why we offer you a selection of unusual Lviv streets and outstanding architectural monuments that adorn them.
For a long time, Lviv residents thought that the longest street in their city was Horodotska. Therefore, there are currently many tourist articles, notes and essays on this highway. Its historical past, as well as the buildings located here, is known to many. However, in fact, the title of the longest deservedly holds Green Street. After all, the length of Horodotska Street to the bypass road is 8,400 m, and the length of Zelena Street is 8,850 m.
Lviv's Zelena Street is one of the city's main two-way highways. This is understandable, as it covers Lychakiv, Halych and Sykhiv districts of Lviv. From Ivan Franko Street it stretches in a south-easterly direction until the exit from the city. There are 408 houses on the street.
The first mention of this street dates back to 1544. But at that time it was called differently - Volosky Most Street. It was also often called Voloska or Voloska roads. Because in ancient times this street served as a trade route to Moldova (principality of Wallachia).
Beginning in 1676 (according to other sources - 1685) the street became known as Green. The modern name is due to the fact that the street ran through green groves. In the Austrian period (since 1792) the street was called Grunenstrasse, ie Green.
From 1938, part of the street was named after Polish General Rozwadowski, and the other part was called Upper Green. During World War II, it regained its former German name - Grunenstrasse. And from 1944 to the present day it has become Green Street again.
By the second half of the XIX century. the street remained sparsely populated due to the fact that all the surrounding land belonged to Polish magnates. Thus, the territory the size of several modern streets, including Zelena, was owned by the Counts of Zamoyski. Until the beginning of the twentieth century there was a palace of the Zamoysky family. And after its decline, a scientific and educational institution for girls named after Sofia Strzhalkowska was built on the foundation of the former palace.
With the advent of the first tramway, which appeared here in the early twentieth century, the lower part of the street began to be increasingly populated by the middle class. However, until the middle of the XX century. its lower part, where the tram line did not pass, was underdeveloped and sparsely populated.
During the Soviet era, industrial enterprises for the manufacture of furniture, bricks, etc. began to open on this street. Multi-storey houses for workers were also built nearby. Thus arose the Sykhiv industrial hub.
In 1955, Snopkivsky Park appeared here. In the same year, the construction of a football stadium began. Construction was finally completed in 1963. The stadium was named "Friendship", now known as "Ukraine".
Now on the street Green, 11B is the church of St. Ursula. The church was built in 1685 at the expense of Crown Hetman Stanislaw Jan Jablonowski. At that time it was part of the monastery of the Dominican Observant Order.
The shrine was built in the Baroque style with a noticeable influence of Northern Classicism of the XVII century. The architect of the building was the Dutchman Tillman van Gameren. Until 1731, the building remained wooden. In 1785 the church was transferred to the Lutheran community. And in 1878 the church underwent a significant reconstruction in the classicist style, designed by Lviv architect Josef Engel.
In 1997 the church was reconstructed and restored, designed by architect Mykola Rybenchuk. Today the church functions as the Central Church of Evangelical Baptists "House of the Gospel".
Lviv's Vuzka Street really lives up to its name, as its width is only 3 meters, which makes it the narrowest not only in Lviv, but also in Ukraine. This street is located in the Lychakiv district of the city and stretches south of Lychakivska Street, ending in a dead end. The length of the street is 90 m.
The street arose in 1683 as a result of the embankment of the earthen defensive wall on behalf of the fortification engineer Jan Behrens. On the eve of the First World War, a building built in the style of simplified neoclassicism appeared on this site. And perpendicular to it, a house was built in the Art Nouveau style under the direction of Lviv architect Bronislaw Bauer. The street got its modern name in 1892.
Heinrich Semiradsky Street is a small Lviv street with a non-residential status. True, no building is assigned to this address, but this does not mean that there are no houses here at all, as well as their inhabitants.
This street appeared in 1910 and was named after the Polish artist Henryk Semiradski, who worked in the genre of late monumental academism, as well as landscape and portrait. The artist gained fame thanks to his paintings depicting scenes from the Bible and the history of ancient Rome and Greece. He has also been successful in creating private interiors and theatrical scenery.
Henryk Semiradsky Street connected the main street of Frankivsk district of Lviv - street November 29 (now - Eugene Konovalets) from the street. Plaster. Thus, the houses that were located on Henryk Semiradsky Street faced Gipsova Street and Lystopada 29th, and therefore belonged to these streets.
The reason why the street was named after this artist is that the artist contributed to the development of Lviv art. In particular, thanks to his efforts, the Lviv Opera House in June 1900 received the main curtain - a canvas measuring 5.8 x 9 meters.
The artist chose the theme for the painting on his own. It was called "Parnassus" and in allegorical form depicted the meaning of human life. This decorative curtain was so popular with the audience of the Lviv Opera that they began to come to Lviv on purpose to watch the amazing curtain and theatrical opera.
During the German occupation, the invaders planned to take this unique canvas with them, but the people of Lviv prevented them. They hid it under the rubble of theatrical scenery lying in the orchestra pit.
Also at this time, the street received a new name - Rubensgasse, named after the famous painter - Peter Paul Rubens. However, this name did not take root for a long time and already in Soviet times it was returned to its previous one. Since then, it has remained unchanged. Now the modern name of the street is placed only on one plate.
Arhivna street is another street in Lviv that is not listed by any houses. It is located in the Halytskyi district of the city, within its historic center, which is included in the UNESCO World Heritage List. The archive extends from Brativ Rohatyntsiv Street to Valova Street. The street is small, its length is 40 m. All the buildings located here are listed on the neighboring streets mentioned above.
The first mention of this street dates back to the end of the XVIII century. But at that time it was not yet called Archival, but was called Bernardine High. Later it was called the Bernardine Transverse, and in 1871 it was given the laconic name Bernardine. This is due to the fact that not far from the street was the Church and the Bernardine Monastery (now - the Church of St. Andrew, on Soborna Square, 3-A).
In 1946, the street became known as Gross Side. And only since 1993, the current name has been finally fixed for it. The street became archival for a reason. This is due to the fact that the former Bernardine Church used to house the State Archives of the Lviv Region.
Another feature of this street is that it has one administrative name and several unofficial names, the number of which is increasing every year. Yes, this is possible and proof of this is that on the wall of the corner house of the street, next to each other, hang several nameplates. Each of them concerns an outstanding director of the past: Fellini, Bergman, Truffaut, Parajanov, Ilyenko, Tarkovsky, etc.
This selection of names of luminaries of world and domestic cinema is due to the fact that near this place is held annually film festival "KinoLev" (as part of the celebration of Independence Day). So, since 2006 at this event traditionally choose one film director - the patron of the festival. Then his name and initials can be seen on the signpost that adorns the corner of the building.
Vichev Square is another Lviv record holder, smaller than which can not be found in Ukraine. Thus, the width of the paved area is 21 m, and its length - 24 m. It is located in the Halytskyi district of the city, within the Old Town. Vicheva Square can be found on the corner of Teatralna, Lesia Ukrainka and Vernissage souvenir markets. Its neighbors are Danylo Halytsky Square, Stary Rynok Square and Zvenyhorodska.
For some time, the smallest square in Ukraine was considered to be Lviv Koliivshchyna Square, located between Brativ Rohatyntsiv and Staroyevreiska Streets. However, in reality it is a bit bigger. Its length is about 30 m and width - 23 m, and therefore it is inferior to Vicheva.
In addition, Vicheva Square is not only the smallest in size, but also one of the oldest squares in Lviv. It is believed that the square appeared in 1593 (according to other sources - 1596) after the construction of a monastery of the Benedictine Sisters. And accordingly, it was then called differently - Benedictine. This monumental building has survived to this day, and its gate overlooks Vicheva Square.
The Benedictine Monastery is a unique monument of Renaissance architecture, designed by the legendary architect Paul the Roman. Now the shrine is called the Church of All Saints and the Monastery of the Intercession of the Blessed Virgin of the Sisters of the Studite. And at the church there is a school of St. Sophia.
After the Second World War, in 1950 the square regained its former name. Today, in addition to 2- and 3-storey buildings of the XIX century, there is also a residential building with a memorial plaque (under №1), in which from 1876 to 1877 Ivan Franko lived. On Vicheva Square under №2 stands the already mentioned former Church of the Benedictine Sisters - the Holy Intercession Monastery of the Sisters of the Studio Charter of the UGCC. And in the building under № 4 until 1896 lived Julia Krushynska - wife of Markiyan Shashkevych (writer, head of the Galician literary group "Russian Trinity").
Choosing a good hotel is often not easy. However, when choosing temporary housing in Lviv, it is necessary to focus not only on the pricing policy of the institution, but also to take into account many other factors. Yes, it is important that the hotel has a convenient location - located in the city center, near the main train station and airport. This will greatly simplify your trip and reduce travel time.
In addition, the center of Lviv is his soul and it is here that the unique atmosphere reigns, which so attracts travelers from different parts of Ukraine and the world. After all, in this place the legendary past and creative present merge in a unique ensemble. Yes, ancient cultural and architectural monuments are organically bordered by a variety of conceptual authorial institutions, the number of which is growing every year.
Given this, we recommend that you stay at the hotel RIUS - one of the best hotels in Lviv, located in the historic center (12A Hnatiuka Street). Living in Rius, it is easy to immerse yourself in theatrical life, as the main Lviv theaters are nearby - Lviv National Academic Opera and Ballet Theater named after Solomiya Krushelnytska, Lviv Academic Theater named after Lesya Kurbas and the First Academic Ukrainian Theater for Children and Youth.
In addition, if you want to walk through the famous Lviv streets-record holders, from the hotel Rius it is easy to do. It only takes 10-15 minutes to get to any of them. There are also many stylish cafes, restaurants and shops nearby, and the city is famous for its variety.
Quality rest implies the presence of comfort in everything. Undoubtedly, a comfortable hotel room is one of the most important conditions but not the only one.
Restaurant at the hotel and a 24-hour bar - will make the rest of the tourist even more enjoyable. RIUS can delight its guests with delicious, delicious dishes of the restaurant, 24-hour lobby bar and, of course, high-quality service and caring staff.
You can order a hotel room by phone: +38 097 970 02 20 or via the Internet by filling out a simple online form on the official website of the hotel - rius-hotel.lviv.ua. Guests can choose from the following room types:
Are you going to Lviv on Independence Day? We offer to spend and celebrate the last days of summer in the Lviv city. And for good reason Lviv prepares a wonderful program and the Rius hotel offers nice discounts. During 20.08 to 26.08 Rius hotel offers accommodation in all rooms categories for 4 (four) nights for the price of 3 (three). Rius hotel also offers accommodation for children on an extra bed (excluding breakfast) with parents for free. You will definitely gain strength for new achievements - Rius hotel guarantee it. Welcome to Lviv, there will be enough rooms for everyone. Booking a hotel room by phone +38 0979700220 or by e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org